“Hosa Diganta” PLAGIARISES my Comic!

Kannada daily, “Hosa Diganta” had published my comic sans my name on May 31st 2011 on Page 6.

I was shocked by their unprofessionalism. I shot emails to the editor,bringing this incident to their notice.

Before proceeding further,my heartfelt thanks to all my friends, followers, blog readers ad subscribers for sharing, commenting and retweeting this link on twitter. Thank You for ALL the help,support,love and encouragement friends!

My special thanks toΒ @AvinashCKM @jemin_p @PunjabXpress @Krishnara for taking up this issue and writing an email to Hosa Diganta editors.

Below is the letter sent by me to the editor of “Hosa Diganta”, a Kannada daily for Plagiarizing my comic:

Their email ids are: hosadi@gmail.com, and digantha@yahoo.com

Letter:

Respected Sir/Madam,

This letter is in reference to the article titled, “Bharatiyanenalu Rahuligey Naachike ante” carried on your reputed newspaper on May 31st 2011, on Page 6. This article was accompanied by a comic, featuring Manmohan Singh, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi.
Link to your newspaper article:Β  http://bit.ly/jFUo1R

I am writing this letter to you out of sheer disappointment and aghast, to bring to your kind notice, that, the comic used by your article is originally a comic done by me.

Link to my original comic: http://bit.ly/mFKLni

I am Swathi Pradeep and I have been creating comics under the pseudonym “ARCHERS COMICS” for my comics blog http://archerscomics.wordpress.com since more than two years now.

I am extremely disappointed to see my comic feature in your reputed newspaper without any reference given to me , or my comics blog or my twitter handle @drone_gal (which can be seen on the left sidebar of my comics blog, quite prominently).
I would like to know why my name or any reference to me was skipped on your newspaper article, when you carried the translated version of my comic.

I would sincerely appreciate if “journalistic professionalism” is displayed by giving credit to me,where it is due.

Thanks in advance, for the understanding!

P.S: Screenshot of my original comic and the comic used by your article can be found here:

Top one is my original comic. Bottom one is the Plagiarized comic

**********************************************************************************

Update on June 1st, 2011, 6:00 PM IST
Its been 18 hours since I wrote an email to them, I have neither received their reply, nor seen any rectification done. Am I asking for too much? or is this how a magazine gains popularity: “By ripping off content from blogs sans acknowledging the bloggers”?

SAD STATE OF JOURNALISM !!!! PERIOD

*********************************************************************************

Update on June 10th, 2011:

Hosa Diganta has rectified its mistake and given me due credit. Screenshot attached below:

 

The above screenshot translates to:
” In the article carried by Mrs Hilda Raja, there was a comic lifted from internet. We had forgotten to mention the creator’s name. Our readers have informed us that, the original creator was “SWATHI PRADEEP”. We apologize for our mistake”


********************************************************************************

By the way, they have not replied back to my email or sent me any apology letter. But “something is better than nothing”, ain’t it? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

*********************************************************************************

Follow me on Twitter: @drone_gal

About ARCHER!

Howdy!! I am a Blogger,a Writer and a Cartoonist! I maintain around 14 blogs ranging from cartoons,food,travel,photography,sci tech,music to reviews on books and movies.
This entry was posted in Comics, Hosa Diganta, PLAGIARISM. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to “Hosa Diganta” PLAGIARISES my Comic!

  1. kpp1991 says:

    Swathi, it was good that you responded spontaneously and without loosing time. The letter was kept civil, to the point and matter-of-fact.

    I would have persuaded you to demand an unconditional apology in writing from the Editor too.

    It is only justified.

  2. Krishna says:

    Agree with Prashant! It’s a shame that people do not acknowledge materials lifted from the author and blithely repeat the same action with something else.

    I wrote an article in Rediff.com on the humble Masala Dosai and found that a blogger just lifted a phrase or two from it without a by your leave. When I sent him several emails, he gave a wishy washy reply and even watered down my comment on his blog. This man’s name is Belur or Bellur. Sorry that we have such creeps in this world.

    Incidentally, Swath,i I dashed off an email to the blighter and marked a copy to you.

    • Archer says:

      Krishna Sir,
      Thanks a lot for your help and support. Yes, I received a copy of your mail to the editor. Thanks a lot for writing to them.
      Was your article also plagiarized on Rediff? OMG!! Such shameless journos!

  3. Sugeeth says:

    Hi Swathi,
    Is there a link here that maps to your other blogs?

  4. Phoenixritu says:

    If a magazine of national repute like Femina can do it, others well …..

    http://phoenixritu.com/2011/05/the-femina-fiasco/

    • Archer says:

      Ritu Di,
      Its really sad that Femina ripped off your article!! What do these big heads think of themselves?
      Did they apologize to you or rectify their mistake?

  5. Phoenixritu says:

    I have brought it to the attention of bloggers on twitter. Will keep publicizing this

  6. Bikram says:

    This is outrageous.. Seems they are becomes mates of .. (oh we know who) ..

    sad situation .. I hope they reply back to you , another such incident happened to Ritu tooo.. So sad …

  7. Satire News says:

    We should come up with a forum or movement against them.

  8. lahari says:

    It will be better if you start imprinting your name inside the comics rather than top of the comic. Atleast make it a transparent (like done in Picasa). These ppl are never going to stop how much ever we ask/shout at them

  9. Pingback: OSAMA DEAD « Archer's Comics!

  10. Dear Archer,
    I was once (1995-96) editor of Hosadigantha Kannada daily, which is referred here. I still r emember those days, when a cartoonist knocked the door of my tiny office. He was frustrated with the Bangalore, its costly life. I assigned him to write pocket cartoons everyday, and also larger cartoons, but publication will be based on quality of content and lines. He agreed and then I started publishing his cartoons. I paid a small amount, but it was a life saver for him, as he told me later. He is now the head (fiction) of a leading Kannada Entertainment TV channel !! I still have a good rapport with him.
    All these events came to my mind when I saw this unfortunate event of lifting the cartoon without credits (when this news paper is supposedly more stable than those days when I worked). I am really shocked to see such an event happening w.r.t. Hosadigantha. I still have faith that this newspaper will rectify its mistakes, if not later.
    Regards
    Beluru Sudarshana

    • Archer says:

      Beluru Sir,
      thanks for taking your valuable time and visiting my blog. Glad to know the ex editor of Hosa Diganta empathizing with my state,when the current editor is portraying apathy! Its been more than 5 days sir, but still, I have not received any reply from the editor & author, to my email/ apology or rectification yet.

  11. Avinash B. Avarebeel says:

    Archi, as Beluru sir has said above, i still have hopes dat they will rectify their mistake, if not now sum other day. I m trying my best..

    • Archer says:

      Avinash,
      Are you done with your internals? Did you get to talk to the present editor on phone? Its been 5 days since I wrote them this letter …. They will rectify the mistake and pigs will fly !!! πŸ˜›

  12. Sugeeth says:

    Any thoughts of taking legal action?

Leave a Reply

