3G: Smart Life!!

This is my entry for Indiblogger-Tata Docomo, 3G Life Contest: http://www.indiblogger.in/topic.php?topic=30

To know more about Tata Docomo 3G Phone, visit the website: http://www.3glife.com/

What does 3G life mean to me?:

It means that, I am becoming “smart” day by day! 😉 Possessing an Iphone with 3G connection in USA has significantly simplified and changed my life for the good. With 3G connection,now,I have the internet at my fingertips,instantly and constantly on the go and have the leverage to use the internet without having the obligation to find the nearest internet cafe or carry wireless modem everywhere.

I use 3G network on my Iphone for performing the following functions:

1>Web Browsing: Google and wikipedia are the best knowledge repositories till date. If I need any urgent information regarding something, all I do is fetch my iphone,open the browser, type http://www,google.com or wikipedia.org and hit enter. It saves me from rummaging for my laptop,cussing the poor internet connection,calling up customer care and getting into verbal duel with them.

2>Accessing emails: I have been conveniently accessing,replying and sending emails anytime and anywhere using the 3G connection on my Iphone. Also,this is the first thing I do in the morning when I wake up,all thanks to the iphone lying beside my bed.

3>News on demand: I need not subscribe and wait for newspaper to be dropped at my door step now, all I have to do is open the web browser on my Iphone and type the online newspaper website which I like to read.

4>Video on demand: Missed a tv show,concert,music launch, music album or love to view your favourite video on you tube? Don’t search for the nearest computer with internet connection, instead, click on you tube app on your iphone and view your favourite videos instantly!!

5>Web Messenger: like ebuddy,yahoo messenger,gtalk,msn etc can be instantly accessed on your 3G phone,facilitating you to keep constantly and instantly in touch with your loved ones.

6>LIVE video streaming: When I visited Niagara Falls recently, I was captivated by the falls. I wanted to share the enthralling and mesmerizing view of the magniloquent Niagara Falls,LIVE, with my parents in India. All,I did was call my parents,provide them the url for video streaming and open the “ustream” app on my Iphone to LIVE stream the gigantic falls for them. Despite few delays,it was definitely worth the shot!

7>Instant Social Networking: I,being,a social networking addict, have been accessing,checking and updating statuses instantly on facebook and twitter using my Iphone. There was also a time,when I visited disneyland and was updating my facebook and twitter statuses every five minutes,and ended up receiving messages from my friends like: “You have been putting your iphone to the best use” or “Stop updating and enjoy your vacation”. Few friends of mine were also frustrated with constant updates and ended up thinking that I was showing off,but instead,I was just sharing! Sometimes,sharing can also be injurious!! 🙂

8>Instant Photo and Video sharing: Captured something picturesque? Eager to share it with the world? Well, just open the email or social networking site on your 3G phone,embed the concerned video or photo in the email or status and hit send! I do it ALL the time!!! 😉

9>Instant Blogging: Well,I jumped on this bandwagon last year and I have been thoroughly satiating this experience. Made new blogger friends,getting noticed,possessing decent number of readers,followers,subscribers etc. If I m not doing anything serious, I am either blogging,facebooking or tweeting!! Oops,I got carried away! Anyways,coming back to the topic, now you can instantly blog from your 3G phone by installing and accessing the blogger and wordpress app. Makes life simpler isn’t it? Caught in frustrating traffic jam? open the blogger/wordpress app on your phone and blog about it! It will kill time and also, at the same time, keep others informed.

10>Checking Maps,Stocks,Weather: Don’t know the route to the destination? don’t possess the GPS to assist you? No worries. Connect to  google maps on your 3G phone,key in your destination address and follow the route! You can also check your stocks online instantly with your stocks app on your 3G phone. It saves you from waking up at odd times or getting glued to your computer screens or frantically hitting the “refresh” button! In USA, hourly weather updates are correctly available on weather.com. [You can check weather updates of other countries also,I tried checking India’s but it was not accurate though]. I have been checking weather updates regularly  on the weather app on my iphone before stepping out of my house. I can plan to dress accordingly to the weather and also be informed about any tornado,storm or rain warnings.

11>Instantly search for restaurants,grocery stores,beauty parlors etc: You can also search instantly for restaurants,grocery stores,beauty parlors etc nearby in many ways. You can use the YELP or LAYAR app on your Iphone or Android based phone. These apps use the technology,which uses Augmented Reality.[Full details about Augmented Reality can be found here:

http://swathipradeepscitech.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/augmented-reality/]. I have been checking it ever since I came across the existence of this fascinating technology and enthusiastically downloaded it on my iphone! There are also apps like “around me”,”urban spoon” which gives you  information access to the nearby places and restaurants respectively.

12>Instantly pay bills: You can instantly pay your telephone,water, electricity,internet etc bills without enduring pain to stand in long queues. You can also make bank transactions by accessing your bank’s website on your 3G phone.

13>Instantly book tickets: Need to book a bus,train,flight or movie ticket urgently? Just access the corresponding websites on your 3G phone,plug in the information and you’re done!

14>Order stuffs instantly: Liked a new dress,shoe,accessory,book etc? Just order them online using your 3G phone. Amazon kindle app on your 3G phone also facilitates you to instantly order,download and read books online!

Well,these are a few “smart features” and actions that can be performed “smartly” using the 3G smart phone”!

If you are “smart” enough to analyse that, this “smart” girl deserves a win,then,”smartly” hit promote on this: http://www.indiblogger.in/indipost.php?post=37422 !! 🙂 😛 😀 😛 😉

Thanks Smarties!!! 😉 😉

About ARCHER!

Howdy!! I am a Blogger,a Writer and a Cartoonist! I maintain around 14 blogs ranging from cartoons,food,travel,photography,sci tech,music to reviews on books and movies.
This entry was posted in - and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 3G: Smart Life!!

  1. sureshpeters says:

    all the best mate 🙂

  2. Mohan says:

    I thought you are brilliantly SMART already! well, in my view, 3G for mobiles is an alternative to bulky computers with broadband data rates 🙂

  3. Nethra says:

    You over use your “smart” phone. I like my phone basic…just for sending/receiving text messages and call making/receiving.

    Anyway, all the best for the contest! 🙂

  4. Manjunath says:

    Omg!! so much of points you are really smarty 😉

  5. magiceye says:

    wow! life at ones fingertips literally!

    best wishes!!

  6. Bikram says:

    oh my oh my you use your fone to its utmost potential excellent , i use mine to make a call and take a call … 🙂

    all the best for the contest .. go swathi go swathi go ….

    Bikram’s Blog

  7. bikram,
    yes… i put it to the fullest use and love it!! 🙂
    Thanks a lot for your wishes and comment 🙂

  8. Sarah says:

    I appreciate your blog writing . We are a Sweden based social media company and have clients in India as well as in Europe. I am looking for blog writers to be members of Spot and Tell in India.
    Our members get an opportunity to stay in hotels, retreat and spa, attend food and wine tasting events for free and write about it on web and share feedback.
    Their blogs are linked to our European and Indian websites.
    If you would like to know more or be a membrer and attend our events in India, please reply to me at sarah@spotandtell.se
    Looking forward for your reply,
    Sarah Jones

  9. Hey, Trying to view your blog on an iphone and am having hassles. I can’t get the images to load correctly. Just thought you should know, Cheers!

  10. 7gphone says:

    I like knowledge. From the Internet. Article content. Trip. Technique and other
    Your website. It is one web. I see. And thank you very much for the article…

  11. Prateek says:

    Hey! Wow, you wrote it too good. And what I see you don’t need any 3G life, you’re already living in it. 😛

    And now when it’s in India it’d be of a great use in context of speed, rest my W705 (Google it) will handle. 😛

  12. I impressed reading your article. Keep the good job but Ill be in touch. Lookin’ forward

  13. I’m glad it was useful to me. Thanks for your work. Ill be in touch

Leave a comment